The architecture and gardens add to this neighborhood’s charm and beauty. This area was originally formed around 1825 when the Livaudais Plantation was divided into plots and incorporated with two other Faubourgs, creating the town of Lafayette. In 1852, the area was annexed to New Orleans. Stimulated by the large lots, gardening flourished, making the area one of the most picturesque in the city.
The earliest homes were constructed near the river; however, the coming of the railway down what is now known as St. Charles Avenue shifted the construction activity toward the transportation system. The earliest house of major importance, the Toby-Westfeldt House, which was built around 1838, still exists on Prytania Street. The distinguished homes were constructed well into the 1880s, and this area remains extremely desirable to the present.
Community events include a St. Patrick’s Day Parade, as well as the infamous Mardi Gras parades and celebration.
Public transportation is available down St. Charles Avenue via the streetcar system; and city buses service Magazine Street and Washington Avenue.