Irish Channel

The Irish Channel features 19th Century architecture, made up of single and double shotgun houses, which were typical of the era. It is bound by Louisiana Avenue, Jackson Avenue, Tchoupitoulas Street and Magazine Street. Being close in proximity to downtown and having great shopping and excellent restaurants within walking distance or a 5-minute car ride are appealing components of this area.

The New Orleans population grew by approximately 50,000 from 1830 to 1840, with one of every five residents being a native of Ireland. The legend of the Irish channel evolved from the number of Irish immigrants concentrated in the second municipality in 1850, although the Irish population resided in each of the three municipalities. However, St. Patrick’s Church was built in this area and many of the Irish did live around the church. The term “Irish Channel” was used to describe a vague section of the city sometime after the Civil War, thus creating the New Orleans legend. Today the term refers to a unique New Orleans Irish heritage, which evolved from the establishment of different Catholic character and cultural solidarity in the mid 19th Century.

Community events include: Annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade, The Irish Channel Festival, “White Linen Nights,” as well as neighborhood art galleries holding special viewings of new works and galleries located in the Irish Channel.

Public transportation is available via city busses. The St. Charles streetcar is within walking distance to the north of the Irish Channel and provides transportation to the downtown area, as well as to the University area near Audubon Park.